Authors Fair – Sept. 24, 2011

The Franklin Township Historical Society is sponsoring an AUTHORS FAIR on Saturday, September 24, from 1 to 4 p.m., at the Franklin Road Branch Library. The event is free, and will provide readers and would-be writers with the opportunity to meet 10 (or more) local authors, look at their books, and perhaps buy an autographed copy or two.

Other features of the afternoon will include a panel led by three authors who represent different aspects of current writing. Brenda (Kight) Lempp will talk about her poetry which she began writing at age 13. She has self-published two chap books which include some of her experiences growing up as one of nine children. She attended Acton Grade School, graduated from Franklin Central and from Franklin College where she earned a journalism degree. She now lives in Madison, Wisconsin, with her husband and their three children.

Panel member Greg Seiter has a full-time job with the AAA Hoosier Motor Club as public affairs manager, and is also a free-lance writer for several publications.including AAA’s Home & Away and SOUTH. He is a graduate of Perry Meridian High School and the University of Indianapolis. He lives in Franklin Township with his wife and two children.

The third panel member is Anne Meyer, a graduate of Broad Ripple High School, and Indiana University. She also did graduate work in Education at Ball State. She received her Diaconal Minister’s Order from Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas. She has written many strories, articles, and devotional literature. She has four children, and 6 grandchildren “from 2 to 5 years old.” She lives in Franklin Township with her husband, and is a member of the Acton United Methodist Church.

The panel will each give a brief summary of his/her writing experiences, and then respond to questions from the audience. There will be drawings for several door prizes during the afternoon, a table of used books on writing for sale and light refreshments.

Everyone is welcome. Authors displaying their works will include Joe Skvarenina, Debbye Butler, Duane Nickell, Brenda Lampp, Cindy Whitis, Theresa Hatfield, Gary Straber, Betty J. Spahr, David Ostheimer, Sylvia Henricks,and perhaps others.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *